Skip to content

Kanye’s Weird Ass Video

October 20, 2009

S: Most people are asking if this short film (“We Were Once a Fairytale” produced by Spike Jonze) is Kanye’s way of crying out for help.  He does play a drunk guy who gets really out of control and has to physically remove a demon which then kills itself.  Let’s see if we can figure out what the hell it means first!

Here it is…it’s worth it to watch it in its entirety.

Wow I’m really at a loss.  I would like to start by giving kudos to the animator(s) who created the little “demon” at the end.  It was ridiculously adorable, with the eyes that made it look all nervous and to some extent, innocent.  I actually don’t know if I would have called it a demon since it was so cute, but that’s what the news sources are calling it (did I just call Yahoo a news source??).

I have to say if it wasn’t Kanye in it I would have liked it, and even with Kanye in it I kind of like it.  Up until it gets weird I know I’ve definitely seen, and on some occasions been, the annoying drunk person at the club/party.  If this has happened with your friends you know that you often excuse their behavior.  For example, you might say, “Oh he just broke up with his girlfriend and is having a rough time.”  So maybe the cute demon was supposed to represent the reason that a person drinks until they have lost all sense of socially appropriate behavior.  And it having it kill itself means something  because we often don’t want to let go of those reasons, they become a presence that almost makes us feel less alone – hence the phrase “wallow in self-pity.”  Sometimes it feels good to feel bad and sorry for ourselves.  But at some point we have to let it go and take responsibility for our actions, at least the actions that come after the cute demon has slain itself.

I don’t know if Kanye will start acting socially appropriate but I hope so.  Not that I’m mad at him for the whole Taylor Swift thing.  That video was horrible and the popularity she has garnered on pop stations makes me believe her publicity team was in on it.  And now he has me curious to know what will happen next.

Let us know what you think in the comments!

Leave a Reply

