Skip to content

Ke$ha – Tik Tok is just the beginning…

January 6, 2010

Ke$ha’s album is called Animal.  I think it should be called Guilty Pleasures 101. When I first heard Tik Tok I thought it was a parody…like I’m on a Boat.  Then I realized it was a real song.  And after a few listens I was dancing in my car.  Admittedly, there’s a low threshold for me to dance to a song in my car but the point is I came to really like it.  Because it was the ULTIMATE GUILTY PLEASURE.  Vapid lyrics that incorporate ebonics (“crunk,” “junk,” and “popo”) being sung by a White girl over a cheesy 80s inspired beat that many of us could have made on fruityloops.  And lots of autotune.  T-Pain would be proud.

Since I really indulge myself when it comes to guilty pleasures I’m in love with this album.  It’s hilarious and will do well for the gym, although I feel sorry for people who have to endure me mouthing the words and occasionally dancing while running (hands only).  Most of the album is just about being a girl: sometimes drunk…sometimes in love…sometimes just wanting a romp with the cute guy at the bar.  Sometimes all three.  I pretty much like all the songs but here are a few highlights:

Tik Tok – I’m just about to hit the saturation point on this song.  But come on, she makes a reference to Mick Jagger in 2009! How many teenagers now know who he is??

Take it Off – This song is suggesting that people are dirty and there’s a place where you won’t get judged for it. I think the place she’s talking about is LA but that’s just my guess.  Bangin’ beat.

Kiss n Tell – This song had me cracking up.  It’s basically about a boy who cheats.  Here’s the best lyric: “I never thought you’d be the one/ acting like a slut when I was gone…I could find someone hotter/…with a bigger…” HAHAHA she called a guy a slut.  Fan-freakin’-tastic.  This song is working off the fact that when a guy cheats he has a hard time keeping it to himself and instead wants to brag about it.  So he ends up being dumped because he’s an idiot and can’t even keep it under wraps.  Yessssss.

Stephen – She’s obsessed with a boy who may not be into her since he’s not calling.  Been there.  Could have used this song to remind me how ridiculous I was acting.

Blah Blah Blah – Girls can be drunk and horny too!  Sample lyric: “Just turn around boy let me hit that.”

Dinosaur – A song about an old man trying to hit on the youngins.  “You should be prowlin around the old folks home.” True dat.

Enjoy your free listen on Lala!  And if you like this make sure to check out Amanda Blank, who is my FAVORITE artist of 2009!

Rating: 4/5 (because it’s fantastic for what it is and not trying to be something it’s not)

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 11:28 am

    I just heard on NPR that she’s really smart. Well, for a 22 year old. I guess she got an almost perfect SAT score, and really likes physics. She thinks all of her songs are a joke too. Makes me like her and her music more.

Leave a Reply

