Skip to content

Thin Mints, Tagalongs, and Samoas…mmmm…

May 3, 2010

I’m a little late in posting this, but better late than never, right?

It’s girl scout cookie time (well…it was…) and this funny SNL weekend update sketch pretty much asks all the questions you’ve ever thought to yourself about girl scout cookies.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I’ve always wondered why you could only get girl scout cookies once a year, I mean, I don’t think I know anyone who doesn’t have a favorite cookie! And considering that I have not yet been able to purchase any cookies this year (because I do not know a girl in a beret and sash, nor do I work with a mother of a girl scout), I’m actually a little perplexed!

I’ve also wondered why girl scouts don’t just raid college campuses and sell their cookies. I feel like setting up shop next to a college dorm or near a campus would let them make a killing! I mean, isn’t that what Ross, on Friends, did? (Oh, it’s a sad day to realize that a Friends reference dates me a bit…)

In trying to think of something interesting to say in the post, I did some research on girl scout cookies and I found some “facts”. So here is some girl scout cookie trivia for you.

1. Did you know there are cookies other than Thin Mints, Tagalongs, Samoas, Trefoils? haha, I didn’t. I mean, I knew those were among the most popular ones, but I found out that there are actually a wide variety of cookies…have you ever heard of any of these? Do-si-dos, Thanks-A-Lot, Lemon Chalet Cremes, Daisy Go Rounds, Dulce de Leche, and Thank U Berry Munch…

Ok..which brings up another question – who on earth names these cookies?

2. I remember when I moved out to the West Coast, I found that the cookies were called different names than the ones I was used to from the Midwest. Samoas were Caramel DeLites, Tagalongs were Peanut Butter Patties, etc. Has anyone else noticed that? Well, it turns out that the girl scouts contract out several different bakeries to make the cookies, and each bakery is allowed to call the cookies whatever it is they want. Isn’t that weird? (Oh…I just answered my own question above. hm.)

3. In 2008, a Michigan teen sold 17,328 boxes of girl scout cookies – raising about $14,000 that was used to finance her whole troop’s 10 day trip to Europe. She said all she did was set up shop on a corner and sold cookies, amazing! Also this girl was 15 when this happened. I don’t mean this in a negative way, but does her age surprise anyone else? I always associated girl scouts with girls either in late elementary school or middle school.

4. Also, when the above numbers were published, media outlets were wondering if this was a record of some sort and the girl scouts claim that they don’t keep track of selling records, so they had no clue if it was a record or not. While I can see why the girl scouts may not want to promote competition within their organization, I think it’s strange that no one has kept track of record sales…I mean, publishing those numbers could be used as motivation for others to sell more cookies, couldn’t it? I don’t know, I’m not the psychologist here…

5. If you purchased a box of cookies this year or last year and thought to yourself, “hm…I thought there used to be more…”, well, you’d be right. Due to increased costs of materials, the girl scouts cut down on the number of cookies in boxes of many of the favorites.

Whoa, I’ve written way more than I was expecting to about girl scout cookies! Well, now that you’re armed with all this useless trivia, next time someone opens up a box of cookies, you can say “hey, did you know….”
Find out if Girl Scout cookies are available in your area here: http://www.girlscoutcookies.org/

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

