Skip to content

Why I Don’t Want to See Sex and the City 2 (or 3)

May 26, 2010

I heard on the news (yes, the gossip news I listen to in the morning…you can’t write a blog without staying abreast of the most up-to-date info!) that because of the commercial success of the Sex and the City 2 – aka SATC2 – that there will most likely be a 3.  I had one reaction: “Are you effing kidding me?”

As any good social psychologist I took a step back and thought about why I was so irritated at the thought of not just one, but two, what are sure to be horrible follow ups to the first movie.  What I finally came up with is that I don’t want to be told that when I’m in my late thirties and early forties, the best fun I will have is when I’m with my “girls” trying to relive the fun I had when I was in my twenties (the decade I’m currently living).  I just don’t.

When I was 14 or 15 I got a subscription to Seventeen magazine.  And I thought life would be magical when I turned 17.  I was going to be pretty, and get a cute boyfriend, and have some sort of horribly embarrassing moment surrounding having my period at school.  But it would be the PERFECT age.  Obviously it wasn’t.

But I didn’t learn and I had the same feeling when I started watching SATC (yes I’m abbreviating, sue me).  I thought life would be FANTASTIC when I was in my late twenties searching for the perfect man, being the great liberated woman I was.  This was me in college.  My roommate and I would have day-long marathons of nothing but SATC and food you can only get away with eating in your early twenties.  We soaked it up, knowing that we would one day be able to put all of our divine knowledge to use when we were out there.  Little did I know I would once again be disappointed, and learn the hard way that “Big” will NEVER, EVER be the one you’re supposed to end up with.

Now that I am in my late twenties, I want to look forward to my life and don’t see any great models of what my life could be when I’m in my thirties and forties with kids.  The only exception is Modern Family, which I’ve already praised in another post.  But the LAST thing I want to see is a whole bunch of women in their forties living life as IF they are in the twenties all over again.  I mean come on, Aiden is back??  Again, are you effing kidding me??  That’s basically telling me that my life right now is as good as it gets.  Might as well savor every last drop.

And maybe women in their forties today do need to see that, because all I see of women in this demographic is that they end up putting themselves last behind everyone else – children, husbands, even the damn dog – unless a makeover show comes along and tells them that it’s okay to splurge on heels and a well-fitted jacket every once in a while.  And that’s definitely NOT who I want to be at that age.  But I definitely don’t want to try and relive an age that I’m currently in, in which I’m looking around and thinking it’s not all that great (not bad, I’m having fun, but not a raging party all the time either!).

If anything, it would have been cool to have the movie be about their real lives, like it kind of was (a little bit) when the show first aired.  I felt the pain of wanting to be a successful woman like Miranda and being able to find a guy who could handle it.  And now all I see is slapstick comedy with a woman falling off a camel (which are NOT ACTUALLY IN Abu Dhabi…but that’s a whole other post). Maybe have it be about something serious where we learn that no matter what life throws at us, having that tight group of friends will get us through.

But no, instead I get what is essentially a milking of a concept that should have died two years ago. I will NOT be seeing this movie, and in fact I would like to forget it even exists.  I’ll go live my life all the older women are thinking I lead now.  Which reminds me, I need to feed the cat.

(P.S. Click the image!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 12:02 am

    K here, just thought I’d add that the movie is getting absolutely panned from the critics. SATC2 is currently at a whopping 14% positive reviews on rottentomatoes and I only expect that number to get worse…

  2. Jennifer permalink
    May 27, 2010 11:24 am

    I gotta disagree with you. I movie looks HORRIBLE (and all reviews indicate this), but I don’t think it’s horrible because they are pretending to be an age they are not. The new movie and the first movie are awful because the TV series took the characters on a believable emotional journey, then did a great job bringing those journeys to satisfying ends in every case. The movies literally have nowhere to go, so they suck.

    I watched the show after I had kids, so I never aspired to a carefree life of Manolos and cosmos, but the show’s writing was smart, funny, and emotionally real. Then they finished so well and in such a satisfying way that there was nothing left to say. That’s why I’m skipping this one.

    And yes, the photoshopping on the poster is ABSURD!

Leave a Reply

