Skip to content

We Love Hating on Gold Diggers

September 21, 2010

So I’m a little late in catching up with all of you pop culture fanatics on finding Cee Lo’s new song “Fuck You” which went viral a few weeks ago and is now on the radio as “F you.” I finally watched it because I saw it on Zelda Lilly. Sarah over there wrote a post about how the song is evoking a lot of misogynistic comments on YouTube and we should be concerned.  But then the post turns into a rant on gold diggers and how it’s not fair to call women out when men aren’t called out for being “hotness diggers?”  (Really? Why is there no term for this? If you have a good one please leave it in the comments!)

I for one don’t have a problem with the song.  Sometimes, to get over a person, you just need to get angry.  And as many of the posters commented, Cee Lo’s “fuck you” is to the guy who can afford to drive around the girl he fell in love with. Why he fell in love with her even though he had to lie, cheat, and steal just to be with her is another story.  Sounds like homie’s got some insecurity issues and I’m sure there are now a lot of people pissed at him for stealing from them just for some girl.  But I digress.  The point is that sometimes it’s good to let off a little steam towards someone who broke your heart instead of making all about “What’s wrong with me?”

But Sarah’s post reminded me of a conversation I had with my mom when Anna Nicole Smith passed away.  They kept showing pictures of that decrepit old man she married and I asked my mom, “Why would she do that?” Let me remind you that my mother is a Mexican housewife who takes a lot of pleasure from hanging out with her grandkids and her dogs.  So sometimes her feminism surprises me.  Her response was “What about him? Why aren’t we discussing whether or not it’s right for him to marry that woman fully knowing she only wants him for his money and he wants her for beauty?”  Go mom.

Some women are romantics, they want the sappy stuff: flowers, long walks on the beach, long phone conversations where neither person wants to hang up.  And some women are financially driven, they want money and nice things.  Who am I to judge?  And really, it takes a lot of work to be a gold digger.  Sometimes, once in a while, a gold digger gets a little nod, but usually she has to give it to herself: Marilyn Monroe’s “Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend” and Madonna’s “Material Girl” come to mind.  And sometimes, a gold digger gives props to the ones that came before her:

Rest in peace to Anna Nicole Smith
Yes my dear your so explosive
Say hi to Mary Mary and Joseph


Yes folks that’s my favorite Nicki, Ms. Minaj giving props to Anna Nicole Smith in Trey Songz’ “Bottoms Up.”  And I love her for it.  Not because I’m a gold digger, but because she’s proud to be one.  Damnit. Hey, if we can toast to the assholes, we can toast to the gold diggers, am I right?


2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 8:47 am

    I hear you, but I also remember TLC calling me a scrub if I was riding shotgun in my friend’s car, and Beyonce saying we’d be through unless I could pay her automo-bills.

    • smartiepop permalink*
      October 4, 2010 10:23 am

      So you’re saying you can be a gold-digger as long as there’s no insulting going on? But doesn’t that make the contract clear? Besides, I think both of these songs were lamenting guys who couldn’t even take care of themselves and try and are still trying to “holla.” I guess this brings up whether finances are something that can be on the list of what you bring to the table in a relationship.

Leave a Reply

