Skip to content

A is for Adele, and Amazing

March 3, 2011

 

I recently got my hands on Adele’s new album 21.

For the last few days I have listened to practically NOTHING else. To say this album is amazing makes me think the English language needs better words to describe things that are beyond amazing. My thesaurus is of little use: astonishing, astounding, incredible, blah blah blah. It EFFING ROCKS.

If you’re thinking to yourself, “I already have a lot of music I like, why should I add this album to my list?” ask yourself if you’ve ever been in any of the following situations:

  • You’ve ever been through a breakup
  • You’ve ever been through a breakup and it was their fault
  • You’ve ever been through a breakup and it was their fault and you thought you’d never get over it
  • You’ve ever been through a breakup and it was their fault and you wanted to see them just one more time
  • You’ve ever been through a breakup and it was their fault and you realized in the end you didn’t need them anyway
  • You’ve ever been through a breakup and it was YOUR fault
  • You’ve ever been through a breakup and it was YOUR fault but you still didn’t want the relationship to end
  • You’ve ever been through a breakup and you ended it and it was one of the hardest things you ever did
  • You’ve ever been through a breakup and ended up meeting someone better who put everything in perspective
  • You’ve ever been through a breakup and found love again
  • You’ve ever been in love

If any of these describes you at any point in time, listen to this album. That Adele is writing and singing these songs at the young age of 21 (hence the title of the album) is utterly baffling.  Here are a few of my favorites (but trust me, they’re all good):

Someone Like You – Sometimes, someone breaks up with you and much too long afterward you get the urge to show up at their house uninvited. Bad idea. Unless you get there and think “Nevermind, I’ll find someone like you.” This song is even better than the one about being drunk at 1 in the morning.

Set Fire to the Rain – Have you ever been in love, only to find a dark side to the person you thought the world of? Having to break up with someone you at some point thought was “the one” seems impossible in the moment, almost as if you were trying to set fire to the rain.

Rolling in the Deep – This is the first single from the album and to be completely honest I’ve been belting it out on my way home from the gym. The breakup is THEIR idea, but that doesn’t mean you can’t tell them they were stupid to break up with such an awesome person. The video is below.

I Found a Boy – I’m sorry…why was I so hung up on you? I found someone WAY better. Only Adele sings it in a way that doesn’t make it sound like a teenager making sure their ex sees their new date.

Lovesong – Adele covers the song that was originally performed by The Cure. The original is melancholic, but Adele spins it to remind us that not all relationships have to end in misery. Having loved and lost…well you know the rest.

These are just a few songs…but I honestly love them ALL. I highly recommend you pick up a copy (how 90s is that saying??) because the “Best New Artist” winner for her debut album 19 will definitely be winning big at the next Grammy Awards.  You can also have it handy if (when) you go through a breakup and want to get drunk and sing sad breakup songs really, really loudly.

Buy it here.

Review: FIVE FULL, AWESOME STARS!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

