Skip to content

Be Brave and Roar

August 25, 2013

Hey everyone!! I haven’t written a post since April. APRIL! But over the past week or so I’ve had a little pinball of an idea in my head rattling around so I thought I’d share it with you. I hope you enjoy!

Recently there was a tiny hoopla over the similarity between two new songs by somewhat different artists. Sara Bareilles came out with a song called “Brave” that was a bit poppier than her normal singer/songwriter tunes and shockingly not about love or lost love or found love or wronged love or any other kind of love. Except for maybe self love but I’ll get into that later. The other song was by Katy Perry and is called “Roar.” It’s not really outside of her realm in terms of types of song.  I’m not saying she has more of a “right” to the beat/melody than Sara does. I’m just saying it’s not totally surprising to hear this sound from Katy.

 

Here’s Sara’s Brave:

Here’s Katy’s Roar:

There’s even a video of a VERY cute kid singing a mash-up of the two songs here.

Now of course it’s not THAT surprising that two pop songs sound similar. (And they do sound similar, I played them back to back and couldn’t figure out which one was which when they first started.) Pop music’s variety is limited and often the same producers are working with various artists and end up creating similar sounds. That happened with Kelly Clarkson’s “Already Gone” and Beyonce’s “Halo” which were both written by OneRepublic’s Ryan Tedder. Though I have to admit I’ve been lazy and haven’t looked into whether these two songs share any creators in common. But even if they don’t pop music tends to flow in similar directions because everyone is trying to create whatever the masses are enjoying at the moment.

That being said I have to admit that I’m a big fan of both songs. And you all KNOW I’m not really a Katy Perry fan (as evidenced here, which is my most commented on blog post to date). I’m also not that into Sara Bareilles. Nothing against her it’s just that her stuff isn’t my cup of tea. But instead of concentrating so much on the similarity of the songs’ sounds let’s talk about the similarity of the songs’ messages and applaud them. Cuz I think they deserve to be applauded.

Here are some lyrics from Brave:

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

With what you want to say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

 

And from Roar:

I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me ROAR
Louder, louder than a lion
Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me ROAR

 

Now granted some of Katy’s lyrics are ummm….borrowed…from other places (Rocky, Alexander Hamilton, and most notably Helen Reddy). But I’m happy to have her taking other people’s messages because they all add up to telling young women (a good chunk of her fan base) to be LOUD. To be HEARD. It’s the same message Sara is saying in Brave, “Let the words fall out.” The words don’t have to be perfect, just say them anyway. And in a society where girls and women are constantly, CONSTANTLY, told that they should be passive and have no confidence in themselves (One Direction’s – the most popular band right now with young girls – “What Makes You Beautiful” is an ode to a shy, insecure, quiet, hiding-in-the-corner girl.) I’m so happy to see this message being put out there. And I do think that the different fan bases means that both girls (Katy Perry’s fans) and women (Sara Bareilles’ fans) will hear the message and hopefully follow it. Because once we all start saying how we feel, once we realize we have the right to be heard, it’s going to create a much better world for young girls. You just wait ROAR and see.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

